When I view someones profile I have an option to FRIEND them - what is this? What does it do?
@Nicole_Guzzo , @deirdre_yee
Great question @richard_lewis.
On Lithium, adding someone as a "friend" makes it so that they can see your online status if you have it set to friends only, and it also shows their online status in your profile page.
Ignoring someone stops that person from sending you private messages (they can send you private messages, but they won't show in your inbox).
I also renamed the feature so it's "CONNECT" and "IGNORE". If you connect with someone, they'll be called a "Connection." (Makes sense! Haha)
You can see what it looks like when your connection is online in the screenshot below.