Currently there is a warning message when you "Reset App", but this is often ignored. We have techs who do not realise they have a sync conflict for a long period so a lot of data backs up and isn't synced with Salesforce. Then when the tech realises he/she has a sync conflict, they panic and just resort to resetting the app instead of solving the conflict. This results in all data updated since the conflict was encountered being lost. Sometimes this is a whole day's worth of work! We are working to educate the techs of this behaviour, but then I had this idea...:
When "Reset App" is pressed, the app should check if there is any data pending to be synced or any outstanding sync conflicts, if there is, then a very clear warning should be displayed to inform the user that there is un-synced data on their device and that this will all be lost if they choose to continue (perhaps quantifying this in the message, e.g. 5 record updates and 2 sync conflicts). If they do continue, then they can be shown the existing warning message, then if they continue again, the reset app will be performed. This should make it fool proof!
What is the underlying problem do you intend to solve with this idea?
Preventing lost data
How is the problem being addressed today, if at all?