Learn how to link your Zinc organization to your external directory to create users and groups in Zinc.
Version Validated In
You can link your Zinc organization to your external directory to create users and groups in Zinc. Learn how to set this up and to create users and groups in Zinc.
You can link your Zinc organization to your external directory to create users and groups in Zinc. Zinc supports user syncing with Microsoft Azure and Okta, as well as group syncing with Microsoft Azure. If you are interested in linking your Zinc organization to your external directory, contact email@example.com.
Once you have been given an authorization token generated by Zinc Engineering, you can create your organization’s Zinc instance in your external directory.
If your external directory users are synced with Zinc:
When a user is created in your external directory, a user is created in Zinc
When a user is deleted from your external directory, that user is deleted from Zinc
If your external directory groups are synced with Zinc:
When a group is created in your external directory, a group is created in Zinc
When a group is deleted from your external directory, the group becomes an unlinked regular group in Zinc
When the membership of a group changes in your external directory > the membership changes changes in Zinc
Default Folder For External Directory Groups When your Organization Admin begins working with Zinc Engineering to initiate the process of integrating with your external directory with Zinc, a folder named “External Directory Groups” will be created for your convenience and will appear in the Official Groups tab of the Admin Console. This folder will serve as the ‘default folder’ for your external directory groups when they are created in Zinc.
Admins with the appropriate privileges can move these external directory Zinc groups in and out of the default folder.
What happens when a group is deleted in my external directory? When you delete a group in your external directory, the Zinc Group that had been created from the external directory group will remain intact in Zinc as regular Official Group with its current members and administrators.
What happens when my org stops syncing its external directory to Zinc?
The users that have already been synced to Zinc will remain in Zinc
Any groups that have already been synced to Zinc will remain in Zinc. These Zinc groups will no longer reflect updates made to your external directory but they will continue to be uneditable Linked groups
Note: ServiceMax makes every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information contained within this article, but assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or inaccuracies that may appear. All references to versions, system requirements or supported features should be referenced within online help documentation for most up to date information. If you do find any errors or inaccuracies, please send your feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.